Who needs to get a Florida Car Dealer License?
A Florida Car Dealer License is required by all individuals or corporations who purchases, offers, or displays for sale more than three motor vehicles in a 12 month period. This means those individuals or companies who buy and sell three vehicles a year such as salvage yards, used car dealerships, and individuals must obtain a Motor Vehicle Dealer License from the State of Florida to legally do so.
Do I need a Florida Car Dealer Surety Bond to get my license?
Yes. All motor vehicle dealers fitting the description above need to obtain a $25,000 Florida Car Dealer Bond in order to obtain their license from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. These surety bonds are relatively easy to obtain and can be applied for by completing our online surety bond application or clicking the “Apply Now” button above. You may visit our Florida Car Dealer Bond page to find out more information on pricing and other information about the surety bond requirement.
Is there a Florida Car Dealer Application I need to complete?
The State of Florida requires a completed application in order to process your car dealer license. The state application can be found by clicking the following link: State of Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer Application. The application is very easy to complete and consists of roughly six pages. You will need to provide basic information about the company, its owners, and its products. This information consists of name, address, and the type of dealership.
What are the different Florida Car Dealer License types?
- Type VI – Independent car dealers specializing in used motor vehicles.
- Type VF – Franchise car dealers specializing in new cars from a given manufacturer(s).
- Type SF – Service facilities who provide service to vehicles but do not sell them.
- Type VW – Wholesale car dealers who buy and sell cars at the wholesale level.
- Type VA – Car dealers who buy and sell vehicles at auction only (no retail sales).
- Type SD – Salvage car dealers who deal in salvage or wrecked motor vehicles.
What fees are associated with the Florida Car Dealer License?
$300* non-refundable application fee due to the State of Florida.
*Please note these fees are charged by and payable to the State of Florida, not DBL Surety.
What do I need to obtain my Florida Car Dealer License?
- A completed Motor Vehicle Dealer License application;
- A $25,000 Car Dealer Bond;
- Proof of lot location ownership or copy of lease;
- Copy of car dealer pre-licensing training certificate;
- Copy of Florida business registration;
- Copy of articles of organization, incorporation, or partnership agreement;
- FEIN number;
- Sales tax number; and
- License Types VA, VW, SD, and VI – Garage Liability Insurance of $25,000 with $10,000 in personal injury protection or;
- License Type VF – General Liability Insurance of $25,000 with business auto coverage and $10,000 in personal injury protection.
How do I contact Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles?
Contacting the FLHSMV can be done by email, phone, or fax. You’ll need to determine which region your dealership will be in prior to reaching out to them. Please click on the link below to find the name, address, and phone number of your FLHSMV contact.