Florida Car Dealer Bond / Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond Apply now

Who needs a Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond and License?

Florida law, governed by Section 320.27 Florida Statutes, requires any individual, corporation, or partnership which buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in three or more cars or other motor vehicles in a twelve month period to obtain a car or motor vehicle dealer license issued by the state and a $25,000 Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond issued by a surety company. The $25,000 Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond requirement is meant to act as a form of recourse against those unscrupulous car dealers mentioned earlier. The Car Dealer Surety Bond can be claimed on if a consumer files a complaint with the State of Florida and offers reimbursement for damages to the consumer caused by violations of the regulations which govern car or motor vehicle dealer licensees.

How do I get my Florida Car Dealer License?

You can learn more about how to apply for your Florida car dealer license by clicking on our Florida Car Dealer License Guide.

What types of Car Dealer or Motor Vehicle Dealer Licenses exist in Florida?

  • Type VI – The independent car or motor vehicle dealer license applies to those entities dealing in used motor vehicles only.
  • Type VF – The franchise car or motor vehicle dealer license applies to those entities selling new cars for a given manufacturer. This license also allows the entity to sell used cars / motor vehicles.
  • Type SF – The service facility car or motor vehicle dealer license applies to entities which perform services on cars and other motor vehicles but do not sell or lease them.
  • Type VW – The wholesale car or motor vehicle dealer license applies to entities who only buy from, sell to, and deal at wholesale.
  • Type VA – The auction car or motor vehicle dealer license applies to entities that buy or sell cars and other motor vehicles at auction but do not sell them at retail locations.
  • Type SD – The salvage car or motor vehicle dealer license allows an entity to deal in salvaged or wrecked cars and motor vehicles.

How much will my Florida $25,000 Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond cost?

The Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond can be obtained for as low as $250 per year for the highest qualified car dealers. We also offer multi-year surety bond terms which can reduce your premium to under $200 annually.  For applicants seeking a bad credit surety bond, the annual premium can range from $500 to $2,250. It requires a basic application which includes information about the company and a personal credit check which is performed by the surety company. Your surety bond cost will be determined immediately after your application has been processed and the surety bond can be issued the same day.  Financing is also available for those bonds exceeding $1,000 in annual premium.

Besides a Florida $25,000 Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond, what else do I need to send to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles?

  • Dealership site approval by the Division of Motorist Services Regional Offices;
  • Completed application (email us at info@dblsurety.com or call (386) 316-2547 for up-to-date version);
  • Payment of a $300 per location fee is required and checks should be made payable to the DHSMV;
  • Original $25,000 car / motor vehicle dealer surety bond (email us at info@dblsurety.com or call (386) 316-2547 for surety bond form);
  • Proof of location ownership or copy of location lease;
  • Copy of pre-licensing dealer training certificate;
  • For car / motor vehicle dealer license types VI, VA, VW, and SD;
    • $25,000 garage liability policy with $10,000 in personal injury protection or $25,000 general liability policy with business auto coverage with $10,000 in personal injury protection.
  • For car / motor vehicle dealer license type VF;
    • $25,000 garage liability policy with $10,000 in personal injury protection.
  • Copy of business registration with the State of Florida;
  • Copy of articles of incorporation, organization, or partnership agreement;
  • Sales tax number;
  • Federal employer identification number; and
    Fingerprints.

You can also visit Florida’s Division of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website to learn more.

How do I apply for a Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond?

  1. Complete our online Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond application, or
  2. Download and complete our printable Florida Car Dealer Bond or Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond application, and
  3. Receive your surety bond quote in minutes!

Apply now