How to get a Florida Agricultural Dealer License

Who needs a Florida Agricultural Dealer License?

A Florida agricultural dealer license is needed by most resellers of agricultural products.  Any reseller of agricultural products who pays for those products with anything other than a cashier’s check, cash, wire transfer, debit card, or similar cash transaction is required to obtain a license and surety bond.  Further, Florida says any business or individual in Florida who handles, buys, or negotiates ag products for resale must be licensed by the Florida Department of Agriculture.

Who is exempt from the Florida Agricultural Dealer License requirement?

While Florida requires most dealers of agricultural products to obtain a license, some individuals and businesses are exempt.  They include:

  • Farmers who sell their own agricultural products;
  • Resellers/Dealers who sell less than $1000 in products per year;
  • Bonded license holders under the Packers and Stockholders Act; and
  • Agricultural dealers who use cash or cash equivalents for their purchases.

Individuals or businesses who do not meet the exemption criteria and operate without a license may receive a cease and desist letter or fine from the state.

How much does a Florida Agricultural Dealer License cost?

The cost of your license will depend on the surety bond amount deposited at the time of issuance.  Listed below are the application costs:

  • $5,000 – 9,999 bond amount = $170 license fee
  • $10,000 – 14,999 bond amount = $230 license fee
  • $15,000 – 100,000 bond amount – $300 license fee

The surety bond amount needed is calculated by multiplying your highest monthly gross sales volume or expected volume for new businesses by two.  Visit our Florida Agricultural Dealer Bond page to learn more about the bond requirement.

How do I get a Florida Ag Dealer License?

Getting your Florida ag dealer license is surprisingly easy!  Here are the steps:

  1. Complete the Florida Agricultural Dealer Application;
  2. Obtain a Florida Agricultural Dealer Surety Bond; and
  3. Send the application and bond to the Department of Agriculture.

Your application may take anywhere from one to three weeks to process.

How do I contact the Florida Department of Agriculture?

You may contact the FL Dept of Agriculture and Consumer Services by calling 1-800-HELPFLA or by mail at the following address:

PO Box 6700
Tallahassee, FL 32314